FAMILY HISTORY

The Bay at Nu-Roc was originally incorporated under the name “Nu-Roc Nursing Home” in the Town of Blackwell in 1953. The original founders of the facility were Floyd and Clara Newton as well as Millard and Betty Newton. Since its origin, Nu-Roc maintained family ownership and retains the profound reputation of offering a family “homelike” atmosphere. Nu-Roc continued under third generation of ownership by Craig and Paul Newton from 1983-2017 under the name Nu-Roc Community Healthcare. In 2018, The Bay at Nu-Roc assumed ownership and strives to continue the strong family commitment of providing the highest quality of care.

Building History

The physical building has a history which is unique to any facility in the state. The original building was constructed in 1928 by a wealthy lumber baron who, at the time, owned a lumber mill in the Town of Blackwell. This enabled him to construct a home of unsurpassed quality for its time. Five fireplaces, hardwood floors, curved archways, and French doors made the home a showplace in the Northwoods. Large surrounding grounds depicting history of years past is still maintained.

After purchase of the original building, the Newton families added seven additions over a span of 58 years to provide one of the highest quality facilities in the State of Wisconsin.